Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > Features > Chennai Super Kings Full List of Coaches | Updated 2024 |
Chennai Super Kings Full List of Coaches

Chennai Super Kings Full List of Coaches | Updated 2024 |

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), with a history of maintaining consistency in team members, coaching, and supporting staff, holds the topmost position among the IPL teams.

CSK, led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni 2009, has won five IPL titles and consistently finished in the top five in 12 out of 14 seasons. However, the team did not participate in the 2016 and 2017 IPL editions due to a Supreme Court order. Nevertheless, they came with a bang in 2018, winning their third IPL title immediately after a two-year suspension.

Since 2010, CSK has won the IPL Trophy in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023. Besides Stephen Fleming’s immaculate leadership behind the doors, MS Dhoni’s meticulous captaincy from the front is well-known among CSK fans and cricket experts.

Last year, CSK also registered yet another scintillating IPL tournament victory, thus becoming the champions after two years. Notwithstanding, CSK won the tournament in IPL 2021 as well, beating KKR in the final.

Chennai Super Kings: The Team’s Winning Combination

Based in Chennai and founded in 2008, CSK is known for its policy of not making significant changes in team members. Due to this factor, the CSK squad has seen minimal alterations since its foundation, with MS Dhoni serving as its captain.

One distinctive feature of CSK is its inclusion of local talents in the top 11 alongside top-notch international players. CSK has always included 7 domestic players (Indians) in its best playing 11, while 4 other players are top-notch international cricketers. It’s always a significant challenge determining who to pick in the best playing 11 and who should be left out! That’s when the experience and skills of the captain and coaches come into play.

The home ground of CSK is the Chepauk Stadium (M.A. Chidambaram Stadium) in Chennai, established in 1916, making it India’s second oldest stadium after Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

CSK is owned by India Cements, with N Srinivasan as its Chairman. A former BCCI President, Srinivasan also served as the ex-Chairman of ICC. In 2008, Indian Cements purchased the CSK franchise for US$ 91 million or Rs. 360 crores.

CSK Full List of Coaching Staff for IPL

The coaching staff of CSK is renowned for its world-class expertise, encompassing various disciplines. Alongside the Head Coach, CSK has a Batting Coach, Bowling Coach, Bowling Consultant, and Fielding Coach. The coaching staff for the 2024 IPL season has been announced, as the tournament is just a few days away.

As CSK has retained some of its top players, it has also retained coaches, some of whom have been associated with the team for a long time.

CSK Coach Descriptions: Find out Who is Who

Who is Head Coach of Chennai Super Kings?

Stephen Fleming CSK Coach

Stephen Fleming, who has been part of the team since its inception, played for CSK in the inaugural 2008 IPL edition. But immediately, he announced his retirement and stepped into the shoes of the team’s active head coach in 2009 and continues to hold that position to date. As a former captain of the New Zealand team, Fleming is renowned for establishing CSK as a dominant brand in cricket.

In his playing days, Stephen Fleming was not just a stylish southpaw but also a widely regarded captain, who transformed the New Zealand cricket team from being called a Minnow to a master challenger in both one-dayers and Test matches.

In ODI matches, Stephen Fleming led the Kiwis on 218 occasions, winning 98 and losing 106. Likewise in test matches, too, he captained New Zealand in 80 matches, winning 28 and losing 27 of them. It was under Stephen Fleming’s captaincy, Kiwis won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2000, held in Kenya.

Who is the Batting Coach of Chennai Super Kings?

Michael Hussey CSK batting coach

Michael Hussey, the 2013 IPL Orange Cap Winner, serves as the Batting Coach. An ex-batsman of the Australian team, Hussey is widely known as Mr. Cricket. He began his IPL career for CSK in 2008, participated in one season for Mumbai Indians in 2014, and returned to CSK, where he still continues as the team’s batting coach.

He represented CSK from 2008-2013. Then briefly, he played for MI at IPL 2014, but soon after he shifted to CSK at IPL 2015. Thereafter, he continues to remain the batting coach for CSK from 2016 onwards. And hopefully, he is likely to remain the head batting coach for CSK this season, too.

Who is the Bowling Coach of Chennai Super Kings?

Dwayne Bravo CSK bowling coach

Dwayne Bravo, who started his career with the Mumbai Indians, is the Bowling Coach of Chennai Super Kings. Bravo holds a record of 183 wickets in his IPL career and is considered one of T20’s big legends, having taken 500 T20 wickets.

He has played in seven World Cups for his home side—West Indies, winning two, and also played for numerous franchises in his 17-year long career. Dwayne Bravo also captained West Indies and other franchises on a few occasions. During his playing days, Bravo was one of the most feared all-rounders in the history of the shorter format of the game. He was an aggressive lower-order batsman and lethal bowler at death overs. Bravo has helped CSK and MI win on numerous occasions through his contribution with bat and ball.

Who is the Bowling Consultant of Chennai Super Kings?

Eric Simmons CSK Bowling consultant

Erick Simmons, a South African all-rounder, has been the Bowling Consultant since 2018. Eric had also coached the Proteas national cricket team as the head coach of the side, before switching to IPL.

He previously worked with the Indian Cricket Team for about two years and was part of the Delhi Daredevils and Rising Pune Supergiant. However, both franchises are no longer active in IPL. While Delhi Capitals have successfully replaced Daredevils as the new IPL franchise representing the Indian capital, RSP (Rising Pune Supergiants) no longer plays in IPL anymore.

Who is the Fielding Coach of CSK?

Rajiv Kumar CSK Fielding Coach

Rajiv Kumar, a fielder with 10 First-Class tons to his credit, is the current Fielding Coach of CSK. Kumar played 84 First-Class games for Jharkhand and previously coached the Jharkhand Cricket Team in Indian Domestic cricket. He shares a longstanding friendship with Captain MS Dhoni.

In Conclusion

CSK, known for being the most consistent IPL franchise, has been captained by MS Dhoni for five titles and finished below the fourth place twice. After a two-year gap, CSK returned in 2018. The franchise has also established its second franchise in South Africa with the Joburg Super Kings, boasting a strong squad with top players.

Now, with both MI and CSK have five-five titles to their credit, it would be interesting to see who wins the IPL 17 later this year. As per the latest update, IPL 2024 will start from March 29, 2024 and will continue till May 26th, 2024. May the best team win!

written by: AHC

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *