Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > Features > CSK Owners: Know who Owns Chennai Super Kings and All Teams and franchises
List: Teams Owned by Chennai Super Kings

CSK Owners: Know who Owns Chennai Super Kings and All Teams and franchises

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the world’s most successful and popular cricket franchises. The team has won five Indian Premier League (IPL) titles, more than any other team, and has appeared in the final a record 10 times. CSK is also the only team to have twice won the Champions League Twenty20, a global T20 tournament.

The success of CSK is due in part to its strong ownership group. India Cements, a leading cement manufacturer in India, own the team. India Cements has a long history of supporting cricket and has invested heavily in CSK to make it one of the best-run teams in the IPL.

In addition to its strong ownership group, CSK also has a passionate fan base. The team’s home matches are always sell-outs, and its fans are some of the most loyal in the world. CSK’s fan base is not limited to India, however. The team has a large following in other parts of Asia, as well as in the United States and Europe.

CSK’s success led the team to expand its reach beyond the IPL. In the year 2022, it was announced that Chennai Super Kings had acquired a team in the SA 20 tournament in South Africa, and it was named Joburg Super Kings.

In 2023, CSK acquired the Texas Major League Cricket (MLC) franchise. MLC is a new T20 league that is set to launch in the United States in 2023. CSK’s acquisition of the Texas franchise is a sign of the team’s ambition to become a global cricketing powerhouse.

Who Owns Chennai Super Kings?

Before we get into how many teams are owned by Chennai Super Kings, it becomes important to understand who are the owners of Chennai Super Kings?
The team is owned by Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, a subsidiary company set up in 2014 after the Supreme Court scrapped the BCCI law that allowed board officials to have a commercial interest in the IPL and the Champions League T20.

History of CSK Owners

Chennai Super Kings was originally owned by the Indian Cement Company, headed by N Srinivasan, then BCCI Secretary.

As the name suggests, it is a cement manufacturing company based in Chennai. It was founded in 1946 and is currently the 9th largest cement company in India in terms of revenue.

The team’s ownership had to be transferred to the subsidiary company after a big scandal in the league, and the team was banned for two seasons as well.
However, with the new owners, Chennai Super Kings has done wonders. They have won 3 IPL seasons since their return in 2018. They won their third title in the return season, then went on to win two others in 2021 and 2023.

Chennai Super Kings finds itself in a better place in terms of ownership and team balance and will be looking to extend its winning run in the Indian Premier League.

Teams Owned by Chennai Super Kings

Joburg Super KingsSA 20- South Africa2022
Texas Super KingsMajor League Cricket- USA2023

Joburg Super Kings (JSK) in SA 20- South Africa

The Joburg Super Kings have emerged as a powerhouse team in the world of cricket, capturing the attention of fans with their dynamic gameplay and impressive performances. As a formidable contender in the SA 20 tournament, the Super Kings represent the vibrant city of Johannesburg, bringing their unique brand of cricket to the forefront.

They were headed by the CSK stalwart and veteran South African player Faf du Plessis, who led by example to almost overtake his team. They started their league journey with a bang by winning two games on the trot. They ended the league stages at number 2, with just Pretoria Capital being ahead of them.

They went on to play the final of the competition, where they battled to their last ounce of strength, only to emerge as the second best. The Sunrisers Eastern Cape defeated them.

Joburg Super Kings will be hoping for a strong performance in the second season of SA20.

Texas Super Kings (TSK) in MLC USA

When the recent Major League Cricekt, a franchise cricket tournament in the USA, was announced, what caught everyone’s attention was Chennai Super King’s interest in buying a team in the tournament. And they even went on to buy a team in the competition. Now, it is named the Texas Super Kings.

The Major League Cricket is all set to start in July 2023. And the Super King’s fans will be excited to see their favourite players from Chennai Super Kings and JSK reprise their roles for this new franchise.

For starters, Faf du Plessis will return in the yellows and will be captaining the side full of surprise superstars. Devon Conway, who had a great time in IPL, will be seen playing for the side, along with the recently retired Ambati Rayudu.

There is no doubt in the fact that it was Rayudu’s cameo that got CSK over the line in the final. And now, he will be of huge importance to the new franchise in the USA.

There are also chances of the tournament featuring CSK veteran Suresh Raina. The Southpaw announced his retirement from IPL in 2022. Since then, he has been on fire in different tournaments all around the globe. And now will be licking his lips to get another chance to play for a Super Kings side.


How many teams are owned by Chennai Super Kings?

Chennai Super Kings, currently has two subsidiary teams in different leagues in the form of Joburg Super Kings in South Africa (SA 20) and Texas Super Kings in USA (MLC).

Who owns CSK?

India Cements Limited owns Chennai Super Kings (CSK) through their holding company, the Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. N. Srinivasan, the Managing Director of India Cements, is the current owner of CSK.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *