Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > News > Ranji Trophy: Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube Shine For Mumbai Against Hapless Assam

Ranji Trophy: Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube Shine For Mumbai Against Hapless Assam

In a Ranji Trophy Group B match in Mumbai, the Mumbai cricket team had a great start against Assam on the first day. Shardul Thakur and Shivam Dube played crucial roles with both the ball and the bat. Shardul Thakur bowled exceptionally well, taking 6 wickets for just 21 runs, causing Assam to be dismissed for a low score of 84 runs. Mumbai chose to bowl first, and Assam struggled to put up a good total.

Shardul Thakur took 6 wickets

Assam faced difficulties from the beginning, and only three of their players could reach double-digit scores. Abhishek Thakuri was the highest scorer for Assam with 31 runs. Mumbai’s left-arm spinner Shams Mulani also contributed with 2 wickets for 8 runs. Assam could only manage 84 runs in 32.1 overs.

In response, Mumbai’s Shivam Dube showcased an outstanding batting performance, scoring an unbeaten 101 runs off 95 balls. He hit 10 boundaries and five sixes, guiding Mumbai to a total of 217 for 6 at the end of the first day’s play. Other Mumbai players like Shams Mulani, Prithvi Shaw, skipper Ajinkya Rahane, and wicketkeeper Hardik Tomare also made valuable contributions to the team’s score.

Shivam dube scored 101 runs off 95 balls

Assam’s bowlers Rahul Singh and Dibakar Johri managed to take two wickets each, but Mumbai secured a lead of 133 runs over Assam by the end of the day.

In another match in Kolkata, Bengal had a strong start against Bihar. Bowlers Mukesh Kumar and Suraj Sindhu Jaiswal shared eight wickets between them, restricting Bihar to a total of 95 runs in 46.4 overs. In reply, Bengal finished the day at 111 for 2 in 33 overs, leading Bihar by 16 runs.

In Lucknow, Chhattisgarh chose to bat against Uttar Pradesh. Sanjeet Desai played a brilliant inning, scoring an unbeaten 113 runs, while skipper Amandeep Khare was batting on 70. Chhattisgarh reached a total of 238 for 4 in 87 overs. Aaqib Khan took 2 wickets for Uttar Pradesh.

In Vizianagaram, Andhra put up a decent score of 260 for 7 against Kerala. Maheep Kumar scored 81, and Ricky Bhui remained unbeaten with 79. Basil Thampi and Nedumankuzhy Basil took 2 wickets each for Kerala.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *