Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > News > Spin duo of Ashwin-Jadeja only Indians in ICC Test Team of the Year
Spin duo of Ashwin-Jadeja only Indians in ICC Test Team of the Year

Spin duo of Ashwin-Jadeja only Indians in ICC Test Team of the Year

In a nod to their stellar performances, veteran Indian all-rounders Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have earned coveted spots in the prestigious ICC Test Team of the Year. The two dynamic players showcased their exceptional cricketing skills, making significant contributions to India’s Test campaigns.

Jadeja named in ICC Test Team of the year

Jadeja commenced the season on a high note, delivering a stellar performance against Australia with a five-wicket haul and a crucial fifty. His all-round prowess shone in the World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia, where he secured four wickets and played a pivotal role with a 48-run knock. On the other hand, Ashwin, a seasoned campaigner, emerged as the leading wicket-taker for India in the high-profile Border-Gavaskar series.

While Ashwin was not part of India’s XI in the WTC final against Australia, he remains a formidable force in the bowling department, set to lead India’s charge against England in the upcoming home series.

Pat Cummins named the captain of ICC Test Team of the Year

The ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2023 prominently features Australian players, with Pat Cummins, the speedster who led Australia to their historic first-ever WTC crown, appointed as the team leader. Cummins, also nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, showcased exceptional leadership skills by guiding Australia to victory in the Ashes and securing their record-extending sixth World Cup title in the 50-over format.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year: Usman Khawaja (Aus), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Travis Head (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Alex Carey (WK, Aus), Pat Cummins (Capt, Aus), R Ashwin (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng)

In the ICC World Test Championship XI, Usman Khawaja, Cummins’ teammate, was chosen as the opener. Khawaja’s remarkable consistency earned him a place in the Test XI for the second consecutive year, and he is also in contention for the prestigious Test Cricketer of the Year award. The Australian batter amassed over 1000 runs (1210) in Tests during the past year.

Travis Head, another prolific Australian batter, enjoyed a stellar year across all formats. Head’s standout performance came in the WTC final against India, where he played a match-defining innings with a score of 163. In addition to the batters, Australia’s wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey and seasoned pacer Mitchell Starc featured prominently in the WTC XI for 2023.

The ICC Test Team of the Year reflects the dominance of Australian cricket in the international arena, underscoring their achievements in the WTC and beyond. With Cummins at the helm, Australia’s cricketing prowess has been on full display, making them a formidable force in the world of Test cricket.

As the cricketing world awaits the upcoming series and battles between top-notch teams, the recognition of outstanding performers in the ICC Test Team of the Year serves as a testament to the enduring spirit and skill of players who continue to elevate the sport to new heights.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *