Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > IPL > Matthew Hayden says MS Dhoni is number one player of CSK

Matthew Hayden says MS Dhoni is number one player of CSK

Former Australian cricketer Matthew Hayden, who played a key role in the success of Chennai Super Kings has opened about his former IPL team and the immense support the franchise gets every season in IPL.

Speaking with Star Sports, the 2009 orange cap winner said that despite retiring from the IPL, he still gets the same love whenever he visits Chennai for commentary during IPL.

Hayden feels that five-time IPL winning captain MS Dhoni will never retire from the hearts of CSK fans. The wicket-keeper batter said that players like Dhoni, Suresh Raina, and Ravindra Jadeja will always be remembered by CSK.

‘I retired from IPL in 2010, but fans still love me when I visit the city for commentary during IPL and other series. I want to say that MS Dhoni will never retire from CSK. He is the number 1 player over there. I am 2, and Suresh Raina is 3 on the list. CSK fans love success, they love players, and they will never leave you behind,” Hayden, who known for his destructive batting said on Star Sports.

“MS Dhoni is one of those heroes in Chennai” – Matthew Hayden praises MS Dhoni

The former wicket keeper batter said that people in Chennai love cricket and are more passionate about cricket than any other franchise.

Hayden said:

‘They love heroes, and MS Dhoni is one of those heroes in Chennai. The fans love Ravindra Jadeja and he is popular among the fans. It is the passion, energy, and motivation that keep fans attached to the Chennai Super Kings,”

“Even when Chennai was banned from the IPL, and Dhoni was playing for Pune, the fans from Chennai came to the city to watch their favorite player playing in the league. It is not just about MS Dhoni. The passion and emotion for cricket among CSK fans are higher than any other franchise,” Hayden added.

Matthew Hayden won two IPL titles in 2010 and 2011. He became one of the primary players in the league, and in 2009 won the Orange Cap as the season’s highest run-getter, with 572 runs.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *