Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > IPL > MS Dhoni Named the Captain of IPL Greatest Team of All Time
MS Dhoni Named the Captain of IPL Greatest Team of All Time

MS Dhoni Named the Captain of IPL Greatest Team of All Time

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has undeniably been a cricketing spectacle since its inaugural season in 2008, bringing together talent and excitement on a global scale. To celebrate the league’s success, a distinguished selection panel, comprising renowned former cricketers and seasoned journalists, recently assembled the IPL’s all-time greatest team.

The esteemed selection panel included cricketing legends like Wasim Akram, Matthew Hayden, Tom Moody, and Dale Steyn, alongside approximately 70 influential journalists. This amalgamation of cricketing expertise and journalistic insight aimed to create a lineup that represented the pinnacle of IPL talent across the years.

MS Dhoni Named the Captain of IPL Greatest Team of All Time

Unanimously chosen to lead this star-studded Greatest Team of All Time was the iconic Mahendra Singh Dhoni, whose leadership prowess and cricketing acumen have left an indelible mark on the IPL. Fondly known as “Captain Cool,” Dhoni’s tactical brilliance and calm demeanor have guided his teams to numerous victories, making him the natural choice to captain this dream team.

The batting order of the IPL’s greatest all-time team showcases a formidable lineup, starting with explosive openers David Warner and Virat Kohli. The duo’s ability to provide blistering starts set the stage for the powerhouse batting to follow. The legendary Chris Gayle holds the crucial number three spot, bringing his destructive batting style to the forefront.

Suresh Raina, a stalwart in IPL history, claims the number four position, providing stability and flair to the middle order. The prolific AB de Villiers follows at number five, known for his innovative stroke play and ability to single-handedly change the course of a match. Suryakumar Yadav, with his consistent performances, secures the number six position, adding depth to the batting lineup.

In the all-rounder department, the team boasts the dynamic trio of Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Kieron Pollard. These versatile players bring a perfect blend of explosive batting, effective bowling, and agile fielding, making them invaluable assets in any T20 lineup.

The bowling attack is led by the Afghan sensation Rashid Khan, joined by spin maestros Sunil Narine and Yuzvendra Chahal. The pace battery is spearheaded by the experienced Lasith Malinga and the current pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah, forming a well-rounded bowling unit capable of dismantling any opposition.

All-Time IPL Greatest Team

Batting Order:

OpenerDavid Warner
OpenerVirat Kohli
3Chris Gayle
4Suresh Raina
5AB de Villiers
6Suryakumar Yadav


  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Kieron Pollard

Bowling Attack:

SpinnerRashid Khan
SpinnerSunil Narine
SpinnerYuzvendra Chahal
PacerLasith Malinga
PacerJasprit Bumrah

Also read: CSK Unveil New Jersey for the Upcoming IPL 2024

Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *