Blog Post

SUPER KINGS' DEN > News > News > Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli among 4 nominees for ICC men’s cricketer of the year 2023

Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli among 4 nominees for ICC men’s cricketer of the year 2023

In the race for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023, four standout players have been nominated for the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. The Indian duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli faces tough competition from Australia’s Pat Cummins and Travis Head.

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja, who faced a setback with a knee injury in the 2022 Asia Cup, made a triumphant return in 2023. In the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, he showcased his left-arm spin brilliance by taking 22 wickets, contributing significantly to India’s series win. His impact wasn’t limited to Test cricket, as he shone in white-ball cricket, picking up 31 ODI wickets, including a remarkable 5/33 against South Africa in the World Cup.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, after a brief struggle, found his form in the latter half of 2022 and continued his stellar performances into 2023. His notable contribution included a crucial 44 against Australia in the second Test of the 2023 Border-Gavaskar Series. This innings played a pivotal role in India’s victory, showcasing Kohli’s resilience and batting prowess across Test and ODI formats.

Travis Head

Travis Head, a key member of the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2022, faced challenges in 2023, dealing with a fractured hand that jeopardized his World Cup participation. Despite the setback, Head not only made a strong comeback but also played crucial roles in the semi-final and final, earning the Player of the Match title. His outstanding ODI form saw him score 570 runs, with a remarkable strike rate of 127.51 during the World Cup.

Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins had an exceptional 2023, excelling both as a player and captain. After a disappointing start with the loss of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Cummins led Australia to significant victories in the WTC final and the Ashes defense in England. The highlight was Australia’s remarkable comeback in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, winning nine consecutive games to secure their sixth title.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *